This is another band with way too many good songs to choose from. Since I also like what they’ve done with Tim "Ripper" Owens, I’m creating separate lists for Halford and Owens.

From the start, I knew a Top 5 list of songs that would NOT be on this list:

  1. Breaking the Law
  2. Living After Midnight
  3. Green Manalish
  4. You’ve Got Another Thing Coming
  5. Hell Bent for Leather

Don’t get me wrong, those are good songs, and have been part of the band’s setlist for ages. Heck, my teenager band used to play Breaking the Law! It’s just that I got kind of tired of the fact that when the band came out with new albums, they’d play too few songs off the new album, and would focus on those songs I had already listened to quite a bit, and I really wanted to listen to the new stuff.

On another note: I have to say I could easily just put every single song off Painkiller on this list. That is by far my top favorite album by them, and one of my top overall, and every single song on it is great.

There’s really several other songs I could have put on the list (Electric Eye, Rapid Fire, Grinder, United, Delivering the Goods, Freewheel Burning, to name a few more…), but I want to limit it to 10 songs, so here we go...

#10: Ram It Down
This band has always had a thing about to write energetic songs, the type that gets me going!

#9: Halls of Valhalla
It's great to see the band putting out good songs like this one at such age. I've been listening to this album quite a bit ever since it came out.

#8: Exciter
"Fall to your knees and repent if you please"
Uhoh, This content has sprouted legs and trotted off.

#7: Demonizer
Great song off the album that marked Rob Halford rejoining the band. Great leads, drumming, riffs, and of course, singing.
Uhoh, This content has sprouted legs and trotted off.

#6: Metal Gods
I don't know if they are the Metal Gods (I personally think that'd be Black Sabbath), but, Judas Priest is right up there to, and this song is a timeless classic!

#5: One Shot at Glory
Absolutely love this song! Always have. Simple, yet effective riffs, outstanding solos, solid drumming, great vocal lines.

#4: Victim of Changes
This song came out the year I was born. I was barely here, and this band was already putting out one of the biggest classic albums in Metal history!!

#3: Beyond the Realms of Death
The pace of this song, the simplicity of the powerful riffs, the vocals… and then, Glenn Tipton’s solo. That solo is such a thing of beauty!

#2: The Ripper
Short and sweet, this is what this song is... creepy and badass!

#1: Painkiller
What is there to say about this song? This is simply one of the best, most perfect songs ever written in Metal music history. Scott Travis has put his name among the greatest metal drummers with the intro to this song. Glenn Tipton has delivered one the most badass guitar solos in Metal ever. This song is an avalanche of awesomeness. This song is pure metal! I’ve listened to it over a million times, and will continue to do so. Metal Perfection!!

For your convenience, I’ve created a "Top 10 Judas Priest (Halford)" Play List on YouTube. :)