Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow with Dio was such a perfect line-up. While the band has released several albums with other singers, not a single one of them comes close to the first three albums with Dio (I like some songs with Doogie White, but still…).

Rainbow Rising is a perfect album, a masterpiece, and the other two albums also have masterpiece-level songs, but in keeping with my restrictions for these series, I could only pick 10 songs.

So here we go...

#10: Catch the Rainbow
Calm, melodic, powerful voice. Impossible for me to describe how much I liked Dio's work.

#9: Man on the Silver Mountain
How many classic songs has Dio recorded?

#8: Kill the King
Rainbow with Dio was such an outstanding band...

#7: Self Portrait
Put two music geniuses together such as Dio and Ritchie Blackmore, and what comes out? Great tunes!

#6: Light in the Black
This entire album is pure gold!
Uh oh, it looks like your embed code is broken.

#5: Starstruck
Have I mentioned this entire album is a classic?
Uhoh, This content has sprouted legs and trotted off.

#4: The Temple of the King
This is the first Dio song I’ve dared to record a cover and put up online several years ago. Such a great melody and pace.

#3: Tarot Woman
I think I've heard this songs 1000000 times... ok, make it 1000001 now...

#2: Gates of Babylon
Another perfect song by this perfect line-up. These riffs, the vocals, the drumming, the songwriting, everything just fit in perfectly.
Uhoh, This content has sprouted legs and trotted off.

#1: Stargazer
The Ultimate Rainbow's Masterpiece! That drum intro by the late Cozy Powell, the simplistic, and yet oh-so-powerful riffs by Ritchie Blackmore, the orchestration, the arrangement, and of course, Dio's simply amazing vocals! This is one of my overall top songs ever! Just about everything in it is perfect.

For your convenience, I’ve created a "Top 10 Rainbow (Dio)" Play List on YouTube. :)