The year was either 1990 or 1991 (so I was either 14 or 15 at the time). The place was a record store named "Forças Aliadas" (named after Triumph’s Allied Forces album). It was really just some house’s garage that the owners had lent to these two guys who wanted to have a record store. I used to go there every weekend, as it was a big hangout place for metalheads. We’d just hang in there, have some drinks, and listen to a lot of music. Just loved that!

There was this one time when I had just get paid (I was already working full time) and went to that place specifically looking for any new record. Fabio, one of the owners, and great guy, showed me this album and said "I think you’ll really like it". The album was Sanctuary’s Into the Mirror Black.


He also recommended another album: Annihilator’s Never, Neverland.I bought both, and really enjoyed it a lot. But in this post, I’ll focus on Sanctuary’s.

Everything in this album appealed to me: from the the cover artwork (with those trees, the old man, everything in shades of grey), through the music (the guitar work, the drumming, the bass lines), to the singing and lyrics. Everything just clicked perfectly with my taste. This album immediately became one of my top favorites at the time, and now, 25 years later, it is still one of the albums I still listen in its entirety very frequently.

Back then, I also when after their first album, Refuge Denied, which I also liked, but not as much as Mirror. I got so bummed when I heard the band split up, even more so due to the fact that it happened because of grunge music (which I hated!). Fortunately, Nevermore was created (which I’ve covered on the previous My Nevermore Top 10 List)!

Needless to say, I was stoked when Sanctuary got back together to play some shows and finally released a new album last year, which I dug a lot and hope they continue putting out new music!
#10: Battle Angels
As much as I enjoyed Warrel Dane’s high-pitched singing back then, I like the other parts of his extensive vocal range more. However, Battle Angels is such a classic, and I’ve headbanged so much to this tune, I had to add it to my list. :)

#9: Question Existence Fading
This is one of my favorites in their comeback album. Simple song, simple riffs, simple structure, sticky chorus, great singing.

#8: Frozen
Another one of my favorites in their comeback album. I like the riffs and the drumming on this one. Again, simple yet good!

#7: Arise and Purify
Their comeback album's opening track. Got me hooked right away!

#6: Epitaph
Their 2nd album is still, by far, my favorite, and this song is another one of those where the lyrics and the vocal delivery get me psyched about it.

#5: Eden Lies Obscured
Each song off this album just sends me back to a very specific time of my life. And I like it.

#4: White Rabbit
Great spin on an old Jefferson Airplane song!

#3: Taste Revenge
Catchy chorus, cool riffs… I remember learning this song on the guitar and playing it by myself, enjoying one of my favorite songs by these guys. I’ve had a blast in 2014 when Warrel Dane played this show at a gig in Brazil!

#2: Mirror Black

I really, really, really like this song. Once again, the lyrics resonate with me so much...

"I will show you your fears, just look into the mirror
In the mirror you might not like what you see
For the mirror reflects the fears that you feel"

I remember looking at the mirror, but not just seeing my face there... actually looking right into my eyes, and feeling something really weird. This song has always made me look at myself and look to see right into my soul.

Also love this part:

"No more terror sleeps in me, I will not cry I'll be strong
The last tear has rolled down on my face
I am stronger, stronger than yesterday"

The lyrics and the vocal delivery sends shivers down my spine. Every time I heard that in the song, I looked up, and thought to myself: "Alright, let's do this!!"

#1: Future Tense

Big day for me. This song... what can I say about this song? One of my top favorite songs of ALL TIME!! For me, it's perfectly written, good guitar parts, good drumming, memorable guitar leads, great singing, and as usual, outstanding lyrics. Seriously, those lyrics are still as relevant as they were 25 years ago: "What do you see on the news when you watch TV? War in the name of God, and a playground killing spree.". I remember also being stoked watching its video at the time, which was right around the time MTV had started broadcasting in Brazil.

This song isn't just perfect for me, but it's another one that brings me so many memories. It pretty much sealed the fact that this is the type of music that resounds more with me: it's fun to listen to, it's fun to play, one can actually hear and understand the words, *AND*, the well thought out words carry an important timeless message.

This is probably one of the songs I've listened to the most in my entire life. Countless times as a teenager I'd lock myself in my bedroom, turn the volume up to 11, and headbang to this tune like there was no tomorrow.

And as if all of this wasn't enough to describe the kind of relevance this song has in my life, it is also the song that has made the love of my life, Vanessa, settle on this type of music, and it's *the* song that has kept me alive in her thoughts during the long period of 17 years when we were apart.

For your convenience, I’ve created a "Top 10 Sanctuary" Play List on YouTube. :)