Angra is one of the most famous metal bands from Brazil (probably the second, right after Sepultura). I remember liking a lot another Brazilian band named Viper (which will be the topic for another Top 10 list…) when I was a teenager. At the time I heard Viper’s singer, Andre Matos had left the band to pursue his music degree. Some years later, I heard he was forming a new band: Angra.

When their first album, Angels Cry, came out in 1993, I was surprised at how good it sounded. The songwriting was really good, production was great, great guitar playing, great solos, and good mix of Brazilian music into heavy metal. It was definitely above any other Brazilian band (other than Sepultura, of course). I went to one of their first gigs during that tour, at a place called Aeroanta, in Sao Paulo. Small place, small stage, lots of people, great show. At end, I overhead somebody say: "We have our Helloween!". I thought that was funny, but indeed, Angra did sound as a band at the same level as the German band Helloween.

I think the band sounded good once they got a new singer (Edu Falaschi) and a new drummer (Aquiles Priester), and release two great albums (Rebirth and Temple of Shadows). Recently, they’ve released a new album, Secret Garden, with Fabio Lione on vocals. I really wished the band would explore Lione’s powerful opera voice (which I don’t remember him using on Rhapsody), but unfortunately, that didn’t seem to happen. Anyway, the album was still decent.

Even though I don’t listen to Angra a lot these days, it still brings me back some good memories, so it deserves a Top 10 list. :)

#10: Stand Away (live with Fabio Lione)
I love this version of this song, mainly because of Fabio Lione's belting on it. His voice here is outstanding, and I wish there was a version of this song with just his voice, and not Taria's (her mispronunciation of words annoys me). Anyway, Fabio is such a great singer, and he seems to be such a genuinely nice guy, I felt I needed to start this list with what I consider his best work in Angra this far.

#9: Petrified Eyes
After putting out an album that heavily used Brazilian influences (Holy Land), Angra decided to take away most of the Brazilian beats and go back to a more direct metal sound on his Fireworks album. I think that worked out well in this song.

#8: Carolina IV
I believe at some point Angra, Sepultura​ and Soulfly​ overused Brazilian influences in their music. I do like how Angra used it in this concept album that covers a little bit of Brazilian history, though. Here it made sense. I think this song has a good balance between metal, classical and Brazilian rhythms.

#7: Acid Rain
One of my favorites off the Edu Falaschi's era.

#6: Winds of Destination
I like the way this song starts off with the cellos, and then heavy guitars and drums. Good participation by Blind Guardian's singer here, too.
Uhoh, This content has sprouted legs and trotted off.

#5: Angels and Demons
The thing I like the most in this song is the drums... the whole section starting at 1:30 is badass!
Uhoh, This content has sprouted legs and trotted off.

#4: Rebirth
I like a lot the whole first section of this song, as well as its epic chorus.
Uhoh, This content has sprouted legs and trotted off.

#3: Nova Era
I dig how the band came back strong after replacing losing key band members. This is a song that greatly shows off this new era (at the time).
Uhoh, This content has sprouted legs and trotted off.

#2: Nothing to Say
This song has a good balance between metal and Brazilian music elements. The drumming at the intro is metal, but, with totally based on a Brazilian rhythm. I also like the guitar riffs on this song, namely the one that intro that follows the drums, as well as the one starting at 0:37.
Uhoh, This content has sprouted legs and trotted off.

#1: Carry On
Certainly the band’s biggest classic. Cool opening riff, great arrangement, great guitar solos, just the right energy.
Uhoh, This content has sprouted legs and trotted off.

For your convenience, I’ve created a "Top 10 Angra" Play List on YouTube. :)