Iron Maiden is one of the bands I’ve listened to the most since my pre-teenage years. I have all of their albums, and still listen to all of them once in a while (even the ones that aren’t so great). So I had to make this top 10 list. Not an easy task, though: there’s about 200 songs to choose from, not including B-Sides and interesting covers they’ve done across the years (like the great cover of Jethro Tull’s Cross-Eyed Mary).

Obviously I couldn’t even pick one song off each album, otherwise this wouldn’t be a top 10 list anymore… so, as with my previous top 10 lists, I’ve focused on songs I’ve listened to a LOT over the years, and which somehow bring me great memories back.

When I started playing electric guitar, around age 14, I used to play lots of Maiden songs, or at least many riffs and licks here there. It was fun. Most bands I’ve played with at a later point also played some Maiden covers in the set list: The Trooper and Powerslave were the main ones.

I’ll never forget the first Maiden gig I’ve been to: it was 1992, when they played in Sao Paulo, when promoting the Fear of the Dark album. Great show!

Something I always catch myself discussing with my music buddies is: Nico McBrain or Clive Burr? I think they’re both great drummers, of course. Nico is more technical and has always created interesting things, like the intro to Where Eagles Dare. However, Clive was my favorite. I just liked his tone better, and how heavy he played. He also created one of my favorite drum intros in The Prisoner.

As far as guitarists, Dave Murray’s signature solos have always caught my attention. We can always know which solos are his. Adrian’s solos are also great (and for me, the most memorable is the one on Wasted Years), but he also has the talent to write great songs. Janick Gers… I don’t know… I’m not too keen on his solos and I don’t like his tone, but he did contribute writing some good songs.

Regarding the singers, I liked Paul DiAnno raw voice and delivery, but Bruce Dickinson is just out of this World; he was amazing when he first joined the band, and he still sings unbelievably well (for me, he’s the one still singing the best out of his generation). Blaze Bailey just didn’t work out well for Maiden, but I do like him a lot in his solo albums.

Without further ado, here’s my Top 10 Iron Maiden List...

#10: No Prayer for the Dying
I think this is such an underrated album. The band's previous two albums had synth guitars and some other prog elements (and both albums were great), and then they decided to go back to recording an album with a more raw sound. I think it worked out great. It's also an album that brings me back great memories. It's kind of hard for me to pick one song out of this album, as I like many, so I decided to choose the title track. Good lyrics, great singing, good melodies on the guitars...
Uhoh, This content has sprouted legs and trotted off.

#9: Children of the Damned
Such a powerful song… Bruce Dickinson’s voice shines as usual.
Uhoh, This content has sprouted legs and trotted off.

#8: Killers
I’ve listened to the first two Maiden albums so much when I was a kid, it’s kind of hard for me to pick songs out of those. I’ll pick Killers as it’s one that always got my head moving. Great tune. It’s worth pointing out Bruce Dickinson’s audition singing this song. A thing of beauty!

#7: Hallowed be thy name
This song is epic. Just listen to it… pay attention to the lyrics and vocal delivery. I always relate it to the beginning of the book The Pillars of the Earth. Different stories, but both starting off with a prisoner going to the gallows. On the song, we hear the story through the prisoner’s point of view; on the book, we get the story through somebody else’s point of view. Just great stuff… that’s all!

#6: Be Quick or Be Dead
While I enjoy some of the band's more epic tunes, I really like a lot their more straightforward ones. I like this song a lot, and it's another one that brings me good memories... it reminds me of attending their concert in Sao Paulo in 92... it also reminds me of playing this song over and over on the guitar...

#5: The Prisoner
"…I’m not a number, I’m a free man! Hahahahahaha…." Air drumming… go!! Seriously, I did a lot of air drumming to this song back in the day.
Uhoh, This content has sprouted legs and trotted off.

#4: Phantom of the Opera
I think this song, right in their first album, indicated where the band's songwriting would go and shine as they matured, even more so after Bruce joined. I've always loved this song. I used to play it a lot on my guitar back in the day, and have always enjoyed the original version, with DiAnno, as well as any version with Bruce. This is a perfect Maiden track!

#3: Powerslave
The drum fill in the intro, the vocals, Dave Murray’s mid-section solo (one of my favorites to play on the guitar!). Another epic song. I remember playing this song both with my teenage band, as well as with my US band (Descent Into Madness) a couple of years ago. Always fun!
Uhoh, This content has sprouted legs and trotted off.

#2: Prowler
The first song off their first album... it has a punk vibe, but with a catchy guitar lick... it's such a simple, straightforward song, but so good!!! Did a lot of headbanging to this tune back in the day.

#1: Wasted Years
Everything about this song is perfect for me. The intro, Adrian’s solo, lyrics ("…you never miss it til it's gone away…"), vocal delivery, the pace of the song… even the video for it is cool! I remember listening to it a lot back in the day, and I remember going nuts when any local band played a cover of it. For me, just an awesome song… "don’t waste your time always searching for those wasted years!".

For your convenience, I’ve created a "Top 10 Iron Maiden" Play List on YouTube. :)