My Top 10 Lists aren't necessarily lists of what songs are the best ones... it's more like "brings me memories" lists.

I grew up listening to a lot of old school heavy bands, such as Black Sabbath, Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Deep Purple, etc. However, Metallica is probably the one that has had the bigger impact on me. All of their first albums (up to the Black Album) bring me back good memories. Among other things, I remember working and saving money to buy their LPs, and then when CD’s came out and I purchased my first CD player, along with the first four Metallica albums!

At one point, I learned to play several of their songs on the guitar. When the "Guitar Hero Metallica" came out I played drums to it through the whole thing, several times, for months. Lots of fun.

There’s a lot more great memories that this band’s music brings me, so it’s only fair I start "My Top 10" series with Metallica!

#10: Seek and Destroy
This might have been the very first Metallica song I've learned to play on the guitar...
Uh oh, it looks like your embed code is broken.

#9: For Whom The Bell Tolls
Playing this song has always been fun. When I get a chance I'll do a One Man Band cover of it.
Uhoh, This content has sprouted legs and trotted off.

#8: Wherever I May Roam
One of the things I remember hearing this song is me buying my first Wah pedal and nailing Kirk's leads. It also brings me memories of a very specific time in my life, certain people, certain moments... music ties it all together.

#7: Creeping Death
This song is just pure energy!

#6: …And Justice For All
...And Justice For All was already one of my favorites back in the day, and I've had lots of fun drumming to it on Rock Band. Good times.

#5: Master of Puppets
This is another one I remember learning how to play on the guitar... playing it properly, getting the downstrokes just right is freaking hard (even John Petrucci drops a sweat playing this one)! This song is a masterpiece.

#4: The Four Horsemen
This song reminds of local bands playing it, and me and my friends going crazy over it… "The Horsemen are drawing nearer, On leather steeds they ride, They've come to take your life"…

#3: Battery
The last three songs on my list, to me, are simply earth shattering... Pure energy! Battery's riffs are the kind I'd like to have written myself... and I've had a lot of fun playing drums to this song on Rock Band a couple of years ago.

#2: Motorbreath
Can't tell you how much headbanging I did to this one tune... still can't keep my head steady while listening to it...

#1: Dyers Eve
Dyers Eve!! The lyrics, the vocals, the riffs, the drumming, the energy... this song has it all. This one kicks some major ass!!!

For your convenience, I’ve also created a "Top 10 Metallica" Play List on youtube. :)