What can I say about Nevermore? When Sanctuary broke up, I felt orphan. When a friend of mine asked me to sit down, handled over a CD, and showed to me that Warrel Dane and Jim Shepperd (former Sanctuary’s singer and bassist, respectively) were on it, I just couldn’t wait to listen to it. When I did, I was a happy person again. :)

This band took my appreciation of Sanctuary to a whole new level, and I have been a huge fan ever since. I have all of their albums, and to come up with a Top 10 list is such a tough job. But then again, much like I’ve done with my Metallica Top 10 List, I’ve picked the songs that bring me back great memories when I listen to them.

Unfortunately, Nevermore broke up. Fortunately, Sanctuary is back. As long as Warrel Dane and Jeff Loomis keep putting out good music, I’m good!

#10: What Tomorrow Knows
Song #10 happens to be the very first I've ever heard by them. I remember exactly the place, the state of mind, and how blown away I was listening to this. Heavy, intense, aggressive, melodic... right up my alley.

#9: The Seven Tongues of God
When I first heard this song I was listening to a lot of Thrash Metal, and I really dug this tune because it was just as heavy, but with better vocals, lyrics, and more intricate guitars.
#8: Matricide
The lyrics on this song and the vocal delivery are just outstanding!

#7: Seed Awakening
With heavy riffs and pounding drums, this song is such a punch in your face!

#6: Narcosynthesis
I remember when this album came out. It wasn't available at the stores in Brazil yet, so I had to download it on a dial-up connection over night (when the connection was both cheaper and a little bit faster)... when I woke up the next day and this song was done downloading, I sat down comfortably so I could enjoy what I was about to hear; and was I happy with it!! This is another one of their songs with a perfect balance between heaviness, melody, and everything else that made Nevermore​ one of my top favorite bands. Oh, this song also reminds me going to their gig for the first time when they were touring this album in Brazil!

#5: Poison Godmachine
Amazing riffs! Heavy and intense. The lyrics, again, are top notch. The vocal delivery on "the empty soulless screen… soulless", specifically in the second "soulless". I can hear me saying that whenever I catch myself watching the news, and they go somewhat like this: "3-year old Syrian boy drowns… and now, soccer!"… Soulless!!!!
Uhoh, This content has sprouted legs and trotted off.
#4: Beyond Within
This band has always had a special talent for choosing the best album opening and closing tracks. This song is the opener for my favorite album by them. I dig the heavy parts as much as I do the clean middle section. Nevermore has also always created parts where the rhythm guitar ends up being even more memorable than the lead guitar itself. Many bands usually just write wimpy rhythm for lead sections, but not Nevermore...

#3: Born
Born!! Fast, heavy, angry, melodic, the guitars, the drums, the vocals... this song is absolutely perfect. Masterpiece! And of course, lyrics are always outstanding: "If nothing in the world can change our children will inherit nothing".

#2: Dreaming Neon Black
The lyrics and the mood of this song have always talked to me, every since it came out, back in 1999. I could always relate it to an experience of my own, and I could also relate to the despair that comes through the vocal delivery, in lines such "my only cure, won’t you meet me?". Many crappy cheesy love songs have been written (did anybody say Bon Jovi?), but this one actually mean it.

#1: Forever
I think this song is heavy. Very heavy, regardless of the fact it doesn’t have drums or distorted guitars, and still, it sounds very heavy to me. Once again, the pain comes through the singing… "I'll meet you in the dreamtime, Whenever you call me…". My #1. Period.
Uhoh, This content has sprouted legs and trotted off.

For your convenience, I’ve also created a "Top 10 Nevermore" Play List on youtube. :)