A couple of weeks ago I’ve posted My Judas Priest (with Halford) Top 10 List. Now it’s time for my Top 10 with Tim "Ripper" Owens.

This list focuses mainly on the two Priest studio albums recorded with Owens (Jugulator and Demolition). I did add one song from the live album (’98 Live Meltdown), though, because I think he did an amazing job on his version of Rapid Fire. Honestly, I could also have easily added his versions of Diamonds and Rust, The Ripper, and Desert Plans, because he totally killed it on those songs. But, again, I tried to focus on the songs he recorded in studio with the band. But I want to keep on the records that I absolutely dig both the ’98 Live Meltdown album, as well as the Live in London DVD. I’m very glad they’ve put out great recordings that captured his live performances.

After Priest released their flawless classic Painkiller and Halford left the band, I was one of the fans who couldn’t think how the band could possibly move forward. There was a huge legacy left by Halford, and their last album at the time was just insanely amazing.

I remember hearing rumors that Ralph Scheepers (former Gamma Ray singer) was being considered, and even though I thought he was a good singer, I didn’t think he’d work out well in Priest.

Then, here comes the news that they found some unknown guy who sung at a Priest tribute band. I didn’t know what to expect.

Then, Jugulator came out. I was blown away!! The singer sounded amazing, and the band sounded heavier than ever. I can’t think of any other band out of the so-called NWOBHM who released such a heavy album.

That was 1997. Two years before that, Iron Maiden released The X-Factor with Blaze Bailey, and a year later, Virtual XI. While Blaze’s a good singer, he just didn’t work out with Maiden, and the band certainly didn’t sound any heavier (and those albums sounded very weak). The mighty Black Sabbath, also two years before that, had released Forbidden. I’m a huge fan of Black Sabbath with Tony Martin, but that album was not good. Hell, think of Metallica, formerly a Thrash Metal band; in 1997 they release ReLoad, a year after releasing Load. What the heck was that?

And here comes Judas Priest, with guitars and drums sounds heavier than ever, and a singer just out of this world!

Despite the fact that Tim Owens used to sing in a Priest tribute band, and therefore, he has some of Halford’s vocal characteristics, he also has a vocal compression that reminds me of Dio, and he definitely has an angrier quality found in vocalists such as Phil Anselmo.

Even after he was out of Priest, I kept following him through his music endeavors. He sounds great in the band Charred Walls of the Damned, and his participation in some other tributes is also great. His rendition of Ozzy’s Mr. Crowley is outstanding, his version of Maiden’s Flight of Icarus is very good, and his live performance of Kind Diamond’s Abigail is surprisingly good (considering it’s very hard to do Diamond songs given his unique voice).

Looking forward to hearing more music from this great singer.

#10: Rapid Fire
Even though this song was originally record with Rob Halford I liked it so much with Owens' vocals that I had to add it to this list. It’ll be the only Halford-era song I’ll add here (even though I like others too). This version just came out so powerful. The band sounds heavier than the original recording, and Owens’ is a freakin' blast!!!

#9: One on One
Simple, mid-tempo, heavy guitars, good vocals.

#8: Feed On Me
Tim’s vocals on this song are so reminiscent of Dio’s. I like it!!!

#7: Machine Man
Cool intro riff, solid drumming, great soloing, aggressive tune. ‘nuff said.

#6: Burn in Hell
Metal!!!

#5: Blood Stained
Great vocal lines by Tim on this one.

#4: Bullet Train
I don’t care if people say this doesn’t sound like Priest. It sounds like Metal, and that’s enough for me. The band dared to sound more modern at the time, which no other "old school" band had dared to do. I really like the result, and this song is one of the best ones they’ve put out!

#3: Dead Meat
Angry intro. Angry vocals. Badass tune!
Uhoh, This content has sprouted legs and trotted off.

#2: Cathedral Spires
This song is epic! I think this is Owens’ Beyond Realms of Death. Outstanding vocal lines and delivery. Great intro, heavy riffs. Solid piece of music.

#1: Jugulator
For me, this is *the* Tim Owens’ track. I remember a good friend of mine putting on this CD so I could check it out. We had been waiting a while for this. High expectations. First album after the unbelievably good Painkiller, new singer. The intro to the song kicks off, I thought it was weird (simply because it didn’t sound like the classic Priest material), but it was awesome. Then, the song really picks up: violent drumming, riffing, singing. Heavy! Modern! This is no "Breaking the Law", "Living After Midnight", or anything like that: this is Priest flirting with Thrash Metal. Perfect Track!

For your convenience, I’ve created a "Top 10 Judas Priest (Owens)" Play List on YouTube. :)